El Dorado County was one of the 18 counties approved for Phase 2 of California’s Covid-19 reopening plan this week, but that doesn’t mean you should visit South Lake Tahoe.
Despite the county’s approval, South Lake Tahoe is increasing enforcement of their “no-travel order” with $1,000 fines through Memorial Day weekend. So far, the city has issued one citation to a hotel and two to vacation rental owners.
“We don’t want to be fining people,” South Lake Mayor Jason Collin said to SFGate. “We just want people to stay home right now. We just want to make sure we’re doing everything to keep our community safe.”
Despite the crackdown on vacation rentals and hotels, the city is easing their stance on second-home owners in the area, now allowing them to shelter-in-place in their Tahoe vacation homes.
South Lake Tahoe has seen 20 confirmed Coronavirus cases to date.
As the valley heat continues to increase as Northern California inches towards the summer season, people are champing at the bit to visit Lake Tahoe and its milder temperatures. But you’ll have to wait to see Big Blue, unless you want a $1,000 fine.
Northern California’s Outdoor Digital Newsmagazine